One of my every-so-often-when-I-remember habits is to read through some of the stories at Folklore.org, which is a collection of articles on the development of the original 1984 Macintosh, written by the folks who created it.  Looking at the pictures of the still-in-development Finder, and reading the engineers’ descriptions of not only trying to do something unique, but having to try and do it in tiny spaces (remember that the original Mac had a 400k floppy drive and 128k of memory!)…I guess what I’m trying to say is that I miss the days when new technologies could really blow our minds.  To say nothing of the fact that all of their work has now, more than 20 years later, evolved into this eye candy-ful 17″ display (which never feels like it’s quite enough space, this BSD-based OS and this hyperlinked, symlinked environment, while still feeling like a Mac, still retaining the concepts behind those initial design choices.  Well…I guess that in itself is pretty mind-blowing after all.

