Maybe the insomnia is worth it if I can keep finding things like this.  The great performer-writer-activist Kate Bornstein has a new book out, Hello, Cruel World: 101 Alternatives to Suicide for Teens, Freaks and Other Outlaws, out now from Seven Stories Press.  I’ve just tripped across it myself, so no review for the moment, but the site does include this lite version (PDF link), from which I’d like to share this quote:

I  think we need to pay a lot of attention to the times we just want to die, because we can use those moments as signals to ourselves that some identity or who that we’ve made ourselves into just isn’t working for us any more.  When you feel suicidal, don’t kill yourself.  Don’t kill your body.  Kill off the who of you that needs to die in order that a better version of you can go on living a more perfectly delightful life, a life that makes you feel better.

