Y’know, this does seem like a good day for a dialogue on software and the development process. And since we’ve already heard a bit of the corporate/MicroShaft side of the aisle, let me turn your attention to a blog debate (or would that be a blog-ologue?) brewing between the author of mod_perl and the maintainer of OpenNMS over the nature of “open source”. What does it mean to call your project “open souce”? How much code needs to be released? How do “open source” and business intersect? And why are you waiting for me to answer that? Go listen to the people who know what they’re talking about.

p.s. Thank you, Slashdot, for always making me look like I’m smarter than I am… 🙂

p.p.s. Confused by the references to Cathedrals and Bazaars? Click here for an explanation from the source.

