While it’s been hard to ignore the iPod ads (or the iPod in general) over the last couple of years, I really hadn’t realized how much my beloved Apple has become a rock star company. That changed in a big (and loud) way tonight. On my way home, I decided to take a pass by the new Apple Store Fifth Avenue, and see this odd little cube everybody’s been talking about. (I’d like to take this moment to apologize for the post title…although really, when else am I going to get to use it?) From a block away, it was already clear this was a bad idea. The line ran down to the corner and wrapped back onto 58th Street…I wouldn’t be surprised if at least a few times during this opening day, it makes it all the way back to Madison. It was an EVENT, with people lined up like they were waiting to see Letterman or buy Stones tickets. There was screaming every time a new group of folks got go in. There were cameras, barricades and security guards. And a big, glass cube with an Apple logo in it. It’s a quite disconcerting experience to realize that you’ve inadvertently become trendy.

